No 72 Spitfire Squadron
Basutoland Squadron

Squadron Leader A.R.Collins
Wing Commander R.Lees (for the 2/9/40 only)
Flight Lieutenant E.Graham

No 72 Squadron was formed on the 2nd of July 1917 at Upavon and was disbanded on the 22nd of September 1919. The Squadron was re-formed from a flight of No 1 Squadron at Tangmere on the 22nd of February 1937 in Gloster Gladiators. Its permanent base became Church Fenton. It was in the April of 1939 when they received their first Supermarine Spitfire's.
They operated from Acklington Satellite Station. They were moved to Biggin Hill on the 31st of August 1940. They were operational from Croydon after the 1st of September 1940.

H.J.Bell-Walker B.W.Brown H.R.Case
I.H.Cosby P.J.Davies-Cooke T.D.H.Davy
R.Deacon-Elliot B.Douthwaite R.D.Elliott
T.A.F.Elsdon J.S.Gilders N.Glew
E.Graham M.Gray D.F.Holland
M.A.W.Lee A.I.Lindsay J.F.Lloyd
J.P.Lloyd E.E.Males N.Morrison
R.N.Norfolk J.J.O'Meara O.Stj Pigg
R.E.Plant M.H.Pocock P.D.Pool
N.C.H.Robson W.T.E.Rolls D.Secreten
D.F.B.Sheen F.M.Smith J.Steere
R.C.J.Staples T.F.E.Stone P.A.R.R.A.Terry
R.A.Thompson J.W.Villa R.J.Walker
J.White E.J.Wilcox A.L.Winskill

Home Contents Men Machines