No 229 Hurricane Squadron 

Squadron Leader H.J.Maguire
Squadron Leader J.Banham
Squadron Leader F.E.Rosier

No 229 Squadron was formed on the 20th of August 1918 and disbanded on the 31st of December 1919. It re-formed at Digby on the 6th of October 1939 as a Fighter Squadron with Blenheim If's. They Re-equiped with Hawker Hurricane's in the March of 1940. 
They moved from Wittering to Northolt on the 9th of September 1940.

P.O.D.Allcock J.Arbuthnot J.Banham
R.E.Bary V.M.Bright R.C.Brown
K.M.Carver J.M.F.Dewer G.L.J.Doutrepont
J.R.Farrow J.F.F.Finnis J.Gil
J.W.Hamill D.B.H.McHardy C.G.Hodson
J.B.Holderness J.W.Hyde E.W.Jereczek
G.B.Johns A.S.Linney H.J.Maguire
S.W.Merryweather R.R.Mitchell R.J.O'Manney
V.Ortmans J.Poplawski M.Ravenhill
R.F.Rimmer F.A.Robbshaw F.E.Rosier
H.N.E.Salmon W.Scott G.F.Silvestor
G.M.Simpson E.Smith R.R.Smith
W.A.Smith N.K.Stansfield S.Stegman
F.J.Twitchett V.B.S.Verity L.B.R.Way

Home Contents Men Machines